Please note that each participant is responsible for securing his own visa.
Citizens of 68 countries coming to Japan for tourism purposes including Germany, Hong Kong, Korea, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, USA, UK and almost all European nations don’t require a visa and will be granted permission for short-term stay upon arrival.
Click here for a list of Visa Exempt Countries and additional rules & conditions.
Visitors from outside these 68 countries must apply for a visa in advance.
Click here to link to the official Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan website for further information.
Even if you are a citizen of a country that does not require a visa, make sure to check the official rules for Japan visa requirements as they can periodically change.
Japanese law requires that all short-term foreign visitors must have proof of onward travel (departure) from Japan.
All short-term foreign visitors to Japan are photographed and fingerprinted upon arrival and must carry their passport with them in Japan at all times.
Source: Japan National Tourism Organization